The Listeria Control Program and accompanying food safety resources are the culmination of an 18-month effort by AFFI’s Food Safety Working Group to develop best food safety and manufacturing practices for the industry. Their work is presented in AFFI’s food safety zone, a one-stop online library for best practice recommendations and food safety resources for the entire frozen food industry and beyond. 

The group is comprised of over 80 food safety professionals and food industry experts that represent more than 50 frozen food manufacturers and food industry partners. The group’s work focused on areas critical to the control and prevention of harborage and growth of
Listeria monocytogenes in frozen food facilities. 

AFFI and the frozen food industry is greatly appreciative of the Food Safety Working Group’s contributions and the commitment of all member companies. Special thanks to Ajinomoto Foods and Schwan’s Company for hosting the group at their facilities and to all our partner organizations (Alchemy, Commercial Food Sanitation, Ecolab, Laitram Machinery, Merieux Nutrisciences, MicroBac Laboratories, NSF International and Testo Solutions) for providing their expertise.    


Tom Foegle, Ajinomoto Foods North America
Peter Johnston, Cavendish Farms Corporation
Tim Jackson, Driscoll’s
John Rusiniak, Lakeside Foods Inc.
Jeff Varcoe, Schwan’s Company


Lead: Rick Katz, Commercial Food Sanitation LLC
Lead: Rick Stokes, Ecolab
Lead: Jeff Varcoe, Schwan’s Company
Michael Barnes, Ajinomoto Foods North America
Matthew Sliva, Arbre Farms Corporation
Ray Alderete, Bueno Foods
Christian Mouat, Columbia Fruit LLC
Will Mouat, Columbia Fruit LLC
Frank Mecozzi, Del Mar Food Products Corp.
Tim Jackson, Driscoll Strawberry Associates
Karl Thorson, General Mills Inc.
Tracy Parnell, Grimmway Farms
Tanya Allen, Lamb Weston
Rocio Morales, MarBran USA
Juan Manuel Jimenez, MarBran USA
Duane Grassman, Nestle USA, Inc
Jason White, National Frozen Foods Corp.
Bill Brodegard, Schwan’s Company
Cindy Miguita, SunOpta Inc.
Michael Calderon, SunOpta Inc.
Shannon Fickett, Wyman’s
Stephanie Fry, Titan Frozen Fruit


Lead: Tom Foegle, Ajinomoto Foods North America
Lead: Joe Stout, Commercial Food Sanitation LLC
Lead: Robert Prevendar, NSF International
Christophe Canivet, Ardo
Mark Matrozza, Better Baked Foods
Beth Stoll, Bonduelle Americas
Tim DeAtley, Conagra Brands Inc.
Tim Jackson, Driscoll’s
Craig Bolt, Ecolab
Erin Mertz, Ecolab
Zackary Schmitz, Firestone Pacific Foods Inc.
Diana Huang, Growers Express
Bradd Eldridge, McCain Foods USA, Inc.
Denise Wooldridge, McCain Foods USA, Inc.
Jamie Wiggins, Northwest Food Processors Association
Sarah Krol, NSF International
Tyler Singleton, The Pictsweet Company
Earl Wells, The Pictsweet Company
Douglas Lovejoy, Wawona Frozen Foods
Duncan Dowdle, Wawona Frozen Foods


Lead: Laura Dunn Nelson, Alchemy Systems
Lead: John Rusiniak, Lakeside Foods Inc.
Steve Decker, Merieux NutriSciences
Michael Cramer, Ajinomoto Foods North America
Nele France, Ardo
Catherine Baca, Bueno Foods
Laura Minieri, Brecon Foods
Lilian Li, Cavendish Farms Corporation
Deann Akins-Lewenthal, Conagra Brands Inc.
Laurie Post, Deibel Laboratories of Florida
Joseph Khanona, Dole Packaged Foods LLC
Alba Williams, Firestone Pacific Foods 
Margot Aiono, J.M. Smucker Company
Stephen Menches, Kahiki Foods Inc.
Todd Badgley, Lamb Weston
Tim Freier, Merieux NutriSciences
Deepa Thakar, Microbac
Trevor Craig, Microbac
George Nagle, Neogen Corporation
Diana Simpson, Palmetto Processing Farms
Amy Baker, Petersen Farms Inc.
Amanda Cox, Pinnacle Foods Group
Mark Hooper, Pinnacle Foods Group
Cameron Baker, Sovos Brands
Jeremiah Sasser, Superior Foods
Joel Hollender, Testo Solutions Inc.
Michael Rybolt, Tyson Foods 


Lead: Peter Johnston, Cavendish Farms Corporation
Lead: Alvin Lee, Institute of Foods Safety & Health
Dan Hartkemeyer, Bueno Foods
Debbie Radie, Boardman Foods Inc.
Sophie Leroux, Bonduelle Americas
MaryAnn Vail, Bonduelle Americas
Carl Anderson, Inn Food
Jennifer Weekes, Lamb Weston
Michael Sclafini, Laitram Machinery
David Gaidos, McCain Foods USA
Erdogan Ceylan, Merieux NutriSciences
Bob Beck, NORPAC Foods
Malavika Sinha, Oregon Potato Co.
Michael Guerette, Radiant Industrial Solutions LLC
Kevin Browning, Simplot Co.
James Gratzek, SunOpta Inc.
Eric Moore, Testo Solutions Inc.
John O’Grady, Twin City Foods Inc.